Prof. Hon. Steve Azaiki. OON

Prof. Steve Sinikiem Azaiki did his primary education in St. Peter’s School, Yenagoa. He proceeded to Bishop Dimeari Grammar School, Yenagoa, and later Government Secondary School, Kaiama, where obtained a Grade One West African School Certificate (WASC).

He further obtained bachelor’s and master’s Degrees as well as a Doctorate Degree in Crop Science from the Agricultural Academy in Kiev Ukraine, now known as University of Life and Environmental Sciences. Much later, he obtained a Master of Business Administration (MBA) in Project Management from Federal University of Technology, Owerri; a second PhD in Public Administration from the Ukrainian Regional University of Personnel Management.

These are besides certificates in foreign languages, management, and leadership, from Harvard, Oxford and Wharton Universities, among others.

Prof. Azaiki had a stint as science teacher in Bishop Dimeari Grammar School, soon after obtaining the WASC. On Return from studies abroad, he got employed on Grade Level 13 in the Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity in 1993, and retired on Grade Level 17 in 2007, after serving as State Director in Rivers and Oyo States Directorates of the National Directorate of Employment (NDE).

In Bayelsa State, he has served in about 16 positions, notably pioneer Commissioner of Agriculture and Natural Resources; twice as Secretary to the State Government (SSG), and a number of honourary advisory positions in the state, most recently, as Honorary Special Adviser on Agriculture; Education and capacity building, Pro-Chancellor and Chairman Governing Council of the Niger Delta University (NDU).

At national level, Prof. Azaiki at various times, served as Special Adviser to the Minister of Special Duties, Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, Minister of Police Affairs and Minister of Youth Development. He was also a member of Governing Council, Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA).

Prof. Azaiki is currently a member of the Nigerian House of Representatives, on the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), representing Yenagoa-Kolokuma/Opokuma Federal Constituency.