You are currently viewing Muhammadu Buhari Deploys Envoys: posts ex-ministers to UK, Spain and US

Muhammadu Buhari Deploys Envoys: posts ex-ministers to UK, Spain and US

  • Post category:News

Deployment of envoys has finally been approved by His Excellency, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), President of the Federal republic of Nigeria.

This include the deployment of a former Minister of State for Defence, Demola Seriki, to Spain as the Nigerian Ambassador, the former Minister of Mines and Steel, Sarafat Ishola, who will serve as the High Commissioner to the United Kingdom and The current Nigerian Ambassador to Ireland, Dr Uzoma Emenike, who is also a non-career diplomat, to the United States as the Ambassador ;while M.I. Bashir will serve as deputy ambassador.

Ishola, who is from Ogun State, is also an ally of a former Governor of the state, Senator Ibikunle Amosun. Also, serving as the Ambassador to Togo is the Editor-in -chief Guardian, Debo Adesina.

In total, 11 ambassadors were re-appointed,with about 8 retained in their current countries of posting and 3 others redeployed. In all, there are 52 non-career envoys posted out by the President and 43 career ambassadors based on the confirmed list from the Senate.

According to the list, the eight ambassadors that will remain at their duty posts include:  Mohammed Rimi (United Arab Emirates), Jidda Baba (China), Gani Bura (Lebanon), Yusuf Tuggar (Germany), Baba Madugu (Switzerland) and Deborah Illiya (Congo).

Ambassador Tijani Muhammmad-Bande will also retain his position as the Permanent Representative to the United Nations, New York while Adeyinka Asekun will remain the High Commissioner to Canada.

However, Modupe Irele, who is the current Ambassador to France, will be redeployed to Hungary while Eniola Ajayi, the Ambassador to Hungary is expected to be redeployed to the Netherlands.

For other non-career diplomats, Ms Ijeoma Chineyerem will resume as the Ambassador to Ireland, Oma Djebah will be posted to Thailand, Abdulahi Shehu (Russia), Haruna Manta (South Africa), Kayode Laro (France), Paul Adikwu (The Vatican), Abubakar Moriki (Japan), Mrs. Opunimi Akinkugbe (Greece) and Ali Magashi (South Korea)

Other postings include M.O. Abam (Italy), N.A. Kolo (Israel), A. Sule (India), G.Y. Hamza (Ghana), A.N. Madubike (Australia) and O.C Onowu (Belgium).

The remaining appointees will be expected to serve as deputy ambassadors or heads of mission. They include A.E. Alleboy (Deputy Ambassador to France), G.E. Edokpa (Deputy Permanent Representative to The UN), Ben Okoyen (Cuba), G.M. Okeke (Deputy Head of Mission to Switzerland),  S.Sani to London, (Deputy High Commissioner to UK), I.A Iwejuo (Ethiopia as Deputy Ambassador), I.A. Alatishe (Deputy Ambassador to Russia) and I.R. Ocheni (Germany).