Delta@30: Delta to honour Edwin Clark, Okonjo-Iweala, Jim Ovia, Tony Elumelu, other icons

  • Post category:News

World Trade Organization (WTO) President, Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, and elder statesman, Chief Edwin Clerk, are among Delta indigenes to be honoured at the 30th anniversary of the creation of the state.

Delta Government had said that there are a number of illustrious Deltans who contributed immensely to the growth and development of the state as it celebrates the 30th anniversary of its creation.

In Aug. 27 of 1991, Delta was among the states created by the administration of the then military President, Ibrahim Babangida.

Emu, who is Chief Economic Adviser to the Governor, said that Delta at 30 came with a lot of pomp and fulfillment as the state had retained its identity since being part of the defunct Mid-West and Bendel States.

Emu had on Monday said that the Delta Government had rolled out a week-long programme in commemoration of the 30th anniversary of the creation of the state.

“There will be a Youth Variety Show also on Wednesday while an interdenominational thanksgiving service will hold on Friday at St. Peter’s Anglican Cathedral, Asaba. Thereafter, a Gala and Award Night would be held at the Event Centre,” he disclosed.

He said activities for the celebration would run from Monday to Friday, starting with the pre-anniversary media briefing and ending with an award night.

He said: “As part of the programmes lined up for the Delta @ 30 anniversary celebration, some selected Deltans are to be honoured with awards in various categories.

“We have the posthumous award in honour of some distinguished Deltans who are no more living, and lifetime awards for leadership and service to humanity.

“For the posthumous award, we have eminent Deltans like the late Dennis Osadebe, who was the first Premier of the then Midwestern Region.

“We also have late Mr James Otobo and late Mr Mukoro Mowoe listed in this category.

Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, a former World Bank Vice-President; Mr Tony Elumelu, a foremost philanthropist and distinguished banker, Mr Jim Ovia, were included among others who received lifetime awards.

The committee chairman said the programme would also include a stakeholder’s summit, children’s day and a church thanksgiving service on Friday

He said the highpoint of the event would be a gala/award nite, where the selected distinguished Delta indigenes would be honoured on Friday.

On the criteria for selection of th awardees, Emu said the committee was thorough in its consideration of the names of the nominees.

“The process of selecting the nominees for the awards was not an easy task.

“As a committee, we sat down and went through a pain-staking process before arriving at these selected nominees,” he added.