You are currently viewing 2021 Cabinet Reshuffle: List of Boris Johnson’s New Cabinet

2021 Cabinet Reshuffle: List of Boris Johnson’s New Cabinet

  • Post category:News

Prime Minister Boris Johnson has carried out a reshuffle of his cabinet, removing several key ministers including Gavin Williamson.

This is the second major reshuffle since Mr Johnson became leader of the Conservative party and took over as prime minister from Theresa May in July 2019. The last one took place in February 2020.

After a difficult 18 months as education secretary amid the COVID-19 pandemic, Gavin Williamson has been removed from the role.

In a Twitter post, Mr Williamson said it had been a “privilege to serve as education secretary since 2019”.

He had faced regular criticism of his handling of the education brief during the COVID-19 crisis, including over the pandemic-enforced shutting of schools and a fiasco over the awarding of A-level and GCSE grades.

Robert Buckland

He was not necessarily one of the names tipped for the chop, but Robert Buckland is out as justice secretary.

It has been an honour to serve in Government for the last 7 years, and as the Lord Chancellor for the last 2.

I am deeply proud of everything I have achieved. On to the next adventure— Robert Buckland (@RobertBuckland) September 15, 2021

Sky’s chief political correspondent Jon Craig suggested earlier that his removal meant the PM wanted his job for someone else and suggested Dominic Raab as a potential replacement, a prediction that was borne out by events.

Robert Jenrick

Robert Jenrick tweeted to say it has been a “huge privilege” to serve as housing, communities and local government secretary.

He added he would “continue to support the prime minister and the government in every way I can”, suggesting he has not been given another job in the cabinet.

Amanda Milling

Another departure is Amanda Milling as Conservative Party co-chair, just weeks before the party’s annual conference in Manchester.

She tweeted that it had been a “privilege and an honour” to serve and said she would “continue working to deliver on our plans to level up the UK”.


Dominic Raab

The biggest headline of the reshuffle so far is Dominic Raab’s demotion from foreign secretary to justice secretary and lord chancellor.

His handling of the crisis in Afghanistan following the Taliban takeover put him under severe pressure – with other cabinet figures briefing heavily against him and opposition parties demanding he resign or be sacked.

Mr Raab has also officially become deputy prime minister, a role he de facto previously had as first secretary of state, a decision that is potentially designed to placate the now former foreign secretary.

Liz Truss

His replacement is Liz Truss, who moves from her role as international trade secretary while keeping her job as women and equalities minister.

Popular with party members, and seen as having been effective in her role negotiating post-Brexit trade agreements, Ms Truss becomes the UK’s second female foreign secretary after Labour’s Margaret Beckett.

It also cements her position as the longest continuously serving member of the current cabinet, having been at the top table since 2014.

Michael Gove

Michael Gove is another on the move, becoming housing, communities and local government secretary.

He also takes on cross-government responsibility for levelling up and keeps his ministerial responsibilities for the union and elections.

Oliver Dowden

Oliver Dowden moves from culture secretary to become minister without portfolio in the Cabinet Office, as well as Conservative Party co-chair.

Stephen Barclay shifts from chief secretary to the Treasury to become chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Cabinet Office minister.

Stephen Barclay


A new entrant to cabinet is Nadine Dorries, who becomes culture secretary.

Nadine Dorries

The bestselling author and former star of I’m a Celebrity… Get Me Out of Here! – who has been a MP since 2005 – was previously a minister in the Department of Health.

Nadhim Zahawi

Nadhim Zahawi is also promoted to education secretary, having occupied the post of vaccines minister since November.

“Children and young people have had a tough time during this pandemic and I’ll be listening to them and their families as we accelerate our work to build back better and fairer,” he said.

“From my own experience, I know what a beacon of opportunity this country can be and I want all children, young people and adults to have access to a brilliant education, the right qualifications and opportunities to secure good jobs.”

Anne-Marie Trevelyan makes a swift return to cabinet as international trade secretary.

She lost her seat at the top table last September when the Department for International Development was disbanded.

Simon Clarke becomes chief secretary to the Treasury and will attend cabinet.


Ministers staying

Rishi Sunak – chancellor

Priti Patel – home secretary

Sajid Javid – health secretary

Ben Wallace – defence secretary

Grant Shapps – transport secretary

Kwasi Kwarteng – business secretary

Therese Coffey – work and pensions secretary

George Eustice – environment secretary

Alok Sharma – COP26 president

Brandon Lewis – Northern Ireland secretary

Simon Hart – Wales secretary

Alister Jack – Scotland secretary

Suella Braverman – attorney general

Lord Frost – Brexit minister in the Cabinet Office

Mark Spencer – chief whip

Jacob Rees-Mogg – Commons leader

Baroness Evans – Lords leader

Kit Malthouse – Home Office and Ministry of Justice minister and will attend cabinet

Michelle Donelan – minister of state at Department for Education and will attend cabinet